For the international women’s day, I wanted to put Indian women in the spotlight! My intention is not to talk about the place of women in India, but my interest lies in their traditional clothing, which greatly contributes, according to me, to the beauty of this country.

There are many traditional garments in India. We find the Lehnga, the Lancha, the Ghagra, the Punjabi… But the best-known is the Saree, traditional garment of the married woman.

During my trip in the South-West of India in December 2016, I noticed that women wore their saree differently according to the place, and I wanted to focus a little more on the subject showing you their diversity and their beauty.

What is a saree?

sareeA saree is a long fabric 6 meters long. It is often made out of polyester, but can also be found in cotton and silk. The married woman often wear a petticoat and a blouse with the saree. They can be of all colours, and women often chose a dominant color for the day.

The different ways to wear a saree

The technique to put the sari depends on the region in India. Here are a few examples.

Bengali styleBengali style

maharashtrian styleMaharashtrian style

rajastan styleRajastan style

We could compare them to some pictures of women wearing a salvar kammez, another traditional womanswear, I have made on the coast of Karnataka.

salvar kameezsalvar kameez clothes

The colour of the saree

As shown above, women dress with very colorful sarees. But there are some special dresscode in India according to the circumstances. For example, if a woman wears a white saree, it is easy to guess she is a widow. In ancient times, after her husband has died, the woman had to wear white for the rest of her life. Nowadays she only has to wear white during recent times after her husband’s death, and later on she can wear colours again.

The colour of a saree also depicts the religion. Hindu and muslim women rarely wear black as it would be a sign of misfortune, and wear white as the colour of death. On the contrary, the chistian religion favours white as a sign of purity, and black as the colour of death.

wedding indiaThe symbolic colour for a wedding in a Hindu religion is vermilion red. At her wedding, the bride wears a vermilion red saree and carries it with ornaments called “Mangalsutra”. When the bride has her vermilion red saree on and the Mangalsutra, this means that she takes the responsibility of being wife of her husband until her death and even beyond. The guests usually wear a heavy bright saree for a marriage ceremony.

Tips for dressing at an indian wedding

I have never attended an Indian wedding, but they promise to be very colourful. After discussing with locals, Indian weddings are sacred in India and respect the traditions, so here are a few tips on clothing if you’re guests at an Indian wedding:

  • Do not let appear a lot of bare skin
  • Don’t dress too “subjectively”
  • Do not wear black of white clothes
  • If you want to blend into the scenery, you can opt for a saree!

Thank you to my ravishing indian models who have accepted to pose for the photo, as well as to everyone who has helped me write this article: Irene, Fania, mum, and especially Ankit 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this article as much as I enjoyed writing it!

Lucy xX

Pour la journée internationale des Femmes, je tenais à mettre les femmes indiennes à l’honneur ! Mon intention n’est aucunement de parler de la place de la femme en Inde, mais uniquement de m’intéresser à leurs vêtements traditionnels, qui contribuent selon moi grandement à la beauté de ce pays.
Il y a de nombreux vêtements traditionnels en Inde. On trouve le Lehnga, le Lancha, le Ghagra, le Punjabi… Mais le plus connu reste le Sari, vêtement traditionnel de la femme mariée.
Lors de mon voyage dans le sud-ouest de l’Inde en décembre 2016, je me suis aperçue que les femmes portaient leur sari différemment selon l’endroit, et j’ai voulu me pencher un peu plus sur le sujet en vous montrant leur diversité et leur beauté.

Qu’est-ce qu’un sari?

Un sari est un long tissu de 6 mètres de long. Il est généralement composé de polyester mais on en trouve également en coton et en soie. La femme mariée le porte souvent sur un jupon et une blouse assortie au sari. Il en existe de toutes les couleurs, et elle choisit souvent une couleur dominante pour la journée.

sari indiennes

Les différentes façons de porter le sari

La technique pour mettre le sari dépend de la région en Inde. En voici un aperçu :
Bengali styleIci voici le style traditionnel à Bengali
maharashtrian styleAu Maharashtra

rajastan styleAu Rajastan

On peut les comparer au Salvar Kameew, que portent les jeunes femmes sur la côte du Karnataka.

salvar kameezsalvar kameez clothes

La signification des couleurs

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, les femmes s’habillent avec des saris très colorés. Mais il y a quelques codes vestimentaires en Inde que l’on adopte selon les circonstances. Par exemple, si une femme porte un sari blanc, il est facile de deviner qu’elle est veuve. Auparavant, après la mort de son mari, la femme devait porter du blanc pour le reste de sa vie. Aujourd’hui, elle n’a qu’à porter du blanc pendant quelques temps après la mort de son mari, et par la suite elle peut porter des couleurs à nouveau.
La couleur d’un sari reflète aussi la religion. Les femmes hindoues et musulmanes portent rarement du noir car ce serait un signe de malheur, et la couleur blanche est le symbole de la mort. Au contraire, dans la religion chrétienne, le blanc est le signe de la pureté et le noir la couleur de la mort.
wedding indiaPour les mariages de religion hindou, la mariée porte du rouge vermillon qui est le symbole sacré du mariage. Elle le porte avec des ornements appelés «Mangalsutra». Lorsque la mariée porte son sari rouge vermillon et le Mangalsutra, cela veut dire qu’elle prend la responsabilité d’être épouse de son mari jusqu’à sa mort.

Conseils pour s’habiller lors d’un mariage hindou

Je n’ai jamais pu assister à un mariage hindou, mais ils promettent d’être très colorés. Après avoir discuté avec des locaux, les mariages sont sacrés en Inde et il convient de respecter les traditions. Voici donc quelques conseils vestimentaires si vous êtes invité à un mariage indou.

  • Je vous déconseille de laisser paraitre beaucoup de peau nue,
  • Ni de porter des vêtements très «subjectifs».
  • Ne portez pas non plus de vêtements noirs ou blancs.
  • Si vous voulez vous fondre dans le décor, vous pouvez vous aussi opter pour un sari !

Merci à mes sublimes mannequins d’avoir accepté de poser pour moi, ainsi qu’à tous ceux qui m’ont aidée à rédiger cet article : Irène, Fania, maman, et surtout Ankit. 🙂

Lucyness xX